rpiarduinomusings

Raspberry Pi, Arduino, Sensors and the data they produce

RPi – Arduino and – nRF24l01

Over the past few weeks, my buddies and I have been discussing RF communications with Arduinos and a Raspberry Pi.  We decided to try the nRF24L01 since they are pretty cheap.   I ordered five to try, along with some mini arduino pro boards and a few sensors, since our goal is to use remote sensors to send back status and alerts based on changing conditions. We wanted something that could run off of batteries and potentially solar power too.

The first roadblock I encountered was due to the voltage difference between the Arduino Pro Mini and the the nRF24l01+ units.  The Arduino is available in 3.3 and 5 volt versions, the nRF24l01 are 3.3 volt units.  I had to go back and order some 3.3 volt voltage regulators to achieve powering the rf units from the Arduino.  Once these arrived, I was able to connect two of the units up, one to my Uno and one to the Pro Mini and then download sketches to test.  Granted, they were within a few inches of each other, but I was able to validate the wiring.  I created a quick video of this and posted on my YouTube account: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zpo0a7P_ZuM

I will add a post this evening with the links that I used to get the Arduinos running, however I still need to do some work on the Raspberry Pi aspect of this efffort, as I was not able to get the nrf24l01+ running on the RPi as of yet. Most likely due to wiring issues for the varied signals. I was using a couple posts that were for the RPi model 2 and B+ and I am working with a B model.

Leave a Reply

