rpiarduinomusings

Raspberry Pi, Arduino, Sensors and the data they produce

openHAB Alternate Installation

My last two posts were based on some pages found on the MySensors.org, written by a user who has had much success in getting started, and we good for me, as I really like to play from a script the first few times I mess in a new environment.

Not everyone thinks like I do, so here is an alternate way to start.

http://www.openhab.org/getting-started/

First, read through this openHAB getting started page. You can follow this exactly, and if you want to mirror my environment you can make these adjustments below to get rolling.
I used the distribution found here:

https://openhab.ci.cloudbees.com/job/openHAB/

Keep in mind that I am using the code and builds of the MySensors.org for the following:

DHT11 Temperature Sensor / Arduino Pro mini clone / NRF24L01+
Motion Sensor HC-SR501 PIR / Arduino Pro mini clone / NRF24L01+
Sound Sensor / Arduino Pro mini clone / NRF24L01+
Ultrasonic Sensor / Arduino Pro mini clone / NRF24L01+
Serial Gateway on Nano / NRF24L01+ w/PA & LNA

I am using static IDs within my Arduino, numbering my sensors with the modification of the default:
gw.begin();

instead I am using:

gw.begin(NULL, x)

Where x is the static number I am assigning. Make sure to keep track of these numbers, so you can validate they are transmitting, and also you will need these numbers when you are making changes to the mappings in the demo.rules file:

// Mappings
var HashMap<String, String> sensorToItemsMap = newLinkedHashMap(
101;0;” -> “livingHum01”,
“livingHum01” -> “101;0;”,
101;1;” -> “livingTemp01”,
“livingTemp01” -> “101;1;”
)

The 101 above needs to be replaced with your static ID for the temp/humidity sensor.

When you arrive at the “Picking your bindings” I installed this binding:

org.openhab.binding.serial-1.8.0-SNAPSHOT.jar

The next step I did was to install the OpenHAB demo. You can adjust these files for your environment, and then also have a clean “production” version for when you have tested all the customization you want to try.

The next step is one I will do later on one of my windows boxes:

Installing the openHAB Designer.

Now you get to the meat of the installation. Now, you can follow this down to the bottom. I recommend you make changes to the demo site, until you are comfortable with what you want ultimately on your final version, then create a setup just for that.

Leave a Reply

