rpiarduinomusings

Raspberry Pi, Arduino, Sensors and the data they produce

openHAB Designer

openHAB Designer is a utility that I think is worthwhile to add to the environment. It allows the editing of the openHAB configuration files with much more ease that with “sudo nano x” on the RPi itself.  I completed my initial installation all from the command line, so I don’t want to hear any commentary on how I should stay true to the platform, I already can do it, now I want to do it easier!

You download the designer on most any platform, my desktop is running windows 10, so I put the program there.

To get to the files on the RPi, I did need to install samba, but that is a fast and easy setup:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install samba samba-common-bin
sudo nano /etc/samba/smb.conf

Now you will need to add the openHAB info to share the directory:

[openhab]
comment = openhab share
path = /opt/openhab
browseable = yes
read only = no

Save that, and then go and add the samba user:

sudo smbpasswd -a pi

I used the credentials for pi.

The last step will be to restart the services, after which you should be able to map a drive from the windows platform.

sudo service smbd restart
sudo service nmbd restart

You are good to go, just test the mapping from the PC, and you now have a tool that can edit the configuration files, check syntax, and give you a GUI to edit your openHAB installations.

Leave a Reply

